The Charente

The Charente is a department in the SW of France named after the Charente River – the most important river in the department. The department’s two largest towns, Angoulême and Cognac, are situated adjacent to this river. The Charente is one of the 83 departments first created during the French Revolution from the former province of Angoumois and it mostly forms part of the Aquitaine Basin. Follow the links below to learn much more about this beautiful region of France.

Introduction ~ Main Towns ~ History ~ Sport & Leisure ~ Food & Wine 

Charente Vineyard